1. Welcome to OrchidsForum.com. We are a friendly online community for Orchid Growers all over the world. If you haven't joined yet we invite you to register and join our community. Hope to see you on our forums!

Cuitlauzina pendula

Discussion in 'Orchid Culture' started by Pete Potter, May 19, 2009.

1. Pete Potter

Pete Potter Pete Potter

Is anyone growing Cuitlauzina pendula aka Odontoglossum pendulum aka Odontoglossum citrosmum – those discarded names seem to be more common in nurseries than the accurate one.

I purchased one few weeks ago and downloaded a culture sheet from the Bakers, which offered quite astounding instructions. So I didn't water the plant after the very first time at its arrival when it was bone dry – and has remained so ever since, after I studied the watering pecularities of the thing. There's also been an article in the AOS Orchids magazine (April 2007) about the subject.

The results don't seem promising, though. The plant had a new growth when it arrived and now the new growth has more or less withered. The whole plant has also turned VERY yellow in the sun (which was recommended for good blooming) in which it also burned (indoors) the one occasion the grower was not in alert and after which it has been in the sun EXQUISITELY outdoors (balcony) where the air has been very cool up to this day, plus the location is VERY windy. No fear of burning there! I have also protected it with a hood of tissue paper the last weeks since the colour of tha plant indicates that the sun is getting just a little too overwhelming for it.