Welcome to OrchidsForum.com. We are a friendly online community for Orchid Growers all over the world. If you haven't joined yet we invite you to register and join our community. Hope to see you on our forums!

Chiloschista segawae

Discussion in 'Orchid Species' started by Uluwehi, Apr 9, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Uluwehi

Uluwehi angraecoids, dendrobiums and more Supporting Member

'Tis the season. This is my first year blooming chiloschistas. I acquired 5 species in 2009 but that winter I didn't realise that they needed not only a dry rest they also needed a cooler temperatures to initiate flowering. Thanks to mini-catts (Peter Lin), this winter I moved my plants out to rest with my dormant nigrohirsute dendrobiums. They stayed dry (water every 1-2 weeks), bright (3000-4000fc), humid (80%rh+) and cool (min 7.2°C/45°F) from December until they began spiking a month ago.

When these are in active growth, I grow them warm (31.1°C/88°F max, 17.7°C/64°F), humid (80%rh+), with only moderate light c. 1500-2000fc. Because I grow under lights I water these twice daily.

I am sure that C. segawae can bloom better than this, but I am happy to see something for the first time. The flowers are tiny, only 1cm wide. I am ambivalent about whether I want to keep growing this species because it doesn't really get me excited, but my partner loves it, so I will continue to grow it for his enjoyment. In contrast, I have a gorgeous Chiloschista viridflava in bloom with larger flowers than segawae and I love it. Hopefully I'll have photos to share of that soon.
    5577513438_ced94047d0_z.jpg 5576927105_d2ff9b3ef1_z.jpg

2. gg68

gg68 Angraecoid addict

Really beautifull orchid and photos!!

3. orchidkarma

orchidkarma Member

Lovely! :)

4. Reyna

Reyna Orchid Obsessed Supporting Member