Welcome to OrchidsForum.com. We are a friendly online community for Orchid Growers all over the world. If you haven't joined yet we invite you to register and join our community. Hope to see you on our forums!

Bratonia

Discussion in 'Orchid Hybrids' started by Mary, Jul 14, 2016.

1. Mary

Mary New Member

Hi all,

I am a novice at growing orchids. I just got this Bratonia and I am pretty sure it is planted in the wrong medium and the medium is very wet. This is day 3 and the medium is still pretty wet. I went online (repotme.com) and bought their Oncedium Imperial Orchid mix and their FEEDME fertilizer. I don't know if I should repot it now or wait until the flowering period is over. It might be a while because the last flower just open.
    Here are some pictures.
    Any help is welcome.

Attached Files:

2. KellyW

KellyW Orchid wonk Staff Member Supporting Member

Hi, Mary. The plant looks very healthy and the flowers are beautiful. However, the medium does look highly decomposed to the point that I can't tell what it was composed of. My suggestion ... try to slip the plant out of the pot without disturbing the roots or medium. If you can do this you could inspect the roots and medium below the surface layer. If the roots are brown and mushy repot now. If the roots are white/green and firm you could wait until the flowers finish. I can't speak from personal experience how the flowers would react to being repotted now.

Another less invasive way to inspect the roots are the drain holes at the bottom of the pot. Are there any roots coming out of the drain holes? If there are and they look healthy you could probably wait for the blooming to finish. The medium can be inspected minimally through these holes also.

3. Mary

Mary New Member

I was able to take it out of the pot and this is what I found. The roots look a bit brown and the medium is potting soil. It smells like it too. Here are some pictures of the roots.

Attached Files:

4. KellyW